About the Japanese Zodiac

Unlike the Western Zodiac which is divided into 12 months, the Asian Zodiac is divided into 12 years. Each year is named after an animal: the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and boar. It is said to have been adopted in Japan in 604 during the reign of Empress Suiko.
According to Chinese legends, before Buddha departed from earth, only twelve animals came in their devotion to him. Buddha honored them by naming the years after them in the order arrived.

Happy New Year!  Quick post.

Had an amazing time bringing in the year of the snake at Morikami today.  A few things I learned and wanted to share, along with the pics:

  • You’ll need to buy tickets to make purchases in certain areas, mostly outdoors.  You can purchase tickets with your credit card, no need to take money out of the ATM
  • Skip the food alley, eat at the Museum’s Cornell Cafe instead
  • Try the mochi ice cream!
  • Catch the Taiko performance (drums)
  • Head inside and visit the museum
  • Explore the gardens

Related Posts: